Dr. Pradeep Chowbey | Max Healthcare

Get Second Opinion

Doc Connect

Hospital : 
Max Super Speciality Hospital, Saket
  • Robotic Urological Surgery: 15 years journey 
    Dr. Rahul Yadav, Dr. Anant Kumar
  • Robotic surgery is the latest in advanced onco surgical procedures 
    Dr. Harit Chaturvedi
  • Percutaneous balloon aortic valvuloplasty & balloon dilatation of aortic coarctation in a 10 year old child 
    Dr. Neeraj Awasthy, Dr. Sushil Shukla
  • Role of CT/MR imaging and echocardiography in evaluation of valsalva sinus aneurysm 
    Dr. Reena Anand, Dr. Raj Kumar, Dr. Divya Malhotra, Dr. Bharat Aggarwal
  • Risk factors for patients undergoing treatment for Breast Cancer
    Ms. Kanika Arora, Ms. Ritika Samaddar
  • Radiology Case of The Month 
    Dr. Nafisa Shakir Batta, Dr. Dhruv Jain
October, 2015 :15

Dr. Pradeep Chowbey

Home >> Doctor >> Dr. Pradeep Chowbey

Clinical Directorate

Dr. Pradeep Chowbey
Executive Vice Chairman Max Healthcare, Chairman - MAMBS & Chairman Surgery and Allied Surgical Specialities
Max Super Speciality Hospital, Saket
Max Super Speciality Hospital, Bathinda
Dr. Pradeep Chowbey
Metabolic And Bariatric Surgery
Minimal Access / Laparoscopic Surgery
Weight Loss Surgery
  • Founder President, Asia Pacific Hernia Society (APHS) )
  • President Elect – International Federation for the Surgery of Obesity and Metabolic Disorders (IFSO) )
  • President– IFSO, Asia Pacific Chapter)
  • President– Asia Pacific Metabolic & Bariatric Surgery Society (APMBSS) )
  • Honorary Member of German Hernia Society, Germany in 2011
  • Honorary Member of Gulf Cooperation Council Hernia Society (National Chapter of Asia Pacific Hernia Society), Dubai in 2010
  • Honorary Member of Indonesian Hernia Society, Bali, Indonesia in 2009
  • Past President, Obesity & Metabolic Surgery Society of India (OSSI)
  • Past Governor (India), Society of Endoscopic and laparoscopic surgeons of Asia (ELSA) )
  • Indian Association of Gastrointestinal Endo-surgeons (IAGES) )
  • Trustee (2006 till date )
  • Past President ( 2004 - 2006 )
  • President ( 2002 – 2004 )
  • President Elect (2000 -2002 )
  • Honorary Secretary ( 1998 - 2000 )
  • Vice President (1994 - 1998)
  • Member, The Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons(SAGES)
  • Member, International Association of Endocrine Surgeons (IAES)
  • Member, International Society of Surgery (ISS)
  • Member, European Association for Endoscopic Surgery (EAES)
  • Member, International Medical Science Academy (FIMSA)
  • Member, Indian Society of Oncology (ISO)
  • Governing Council Member, Association of Surgeons of India (ASI)
  • Member, National Academy of Medical Science (MNAMS)
  • Member, Indian Society of Gastroenterology (ISG)
  • Member, Indian Association of Surgical Gastroenterology (IASG)
  • Founder Member, Obesity Surgery Society of India (OSSI)
  • Member, Membership Drive Committee – Association Surgeons of India (ASI)
  • Member, Workshop Committee – Association Surgeons of India (ASI)
  • Patron, Health Care Welfare Society)
  • Patron, Association of Endoscopic Surgeons (AES)
  • Fellow, American College of Surgeons (FACS)
  • Fellow, The Association of Surgeons of India (FAIS)
  • Fellow, International College of Surgeons (FICS)
Share This: 


Work Experience: 
  • More than 35 yrs of experience in Lap Surgery in association with his team
  • Completed 70,000 major Lap procedures
  • Max Healthcare (Nov 2009 to till date)
  • Sir Ganga Ram Hospital (1980 – 2009)
  • Willingdon Hospital (1977 – 1980)
Education & Training: 
  • MBBS – Jabalpur Medical College(1973)
  • MS – Jabalpur Medical College(1977)
  • FRCS (London)
  • FAIS
  • FICS
  • FACS
  • FALS
Awards Information: 
  • Lifetime Achievement award by IAGES in February, 2015
  • Lifetime Achievement award by Human Care Charitable Trust in August 2014
  • IMAAN INDIA SAMMAN award 2014 in October, 2014
  • Legend during the Lifetime Award by Balkan Ji Bari International September, 2013
  • Chairman’s Award by Max Healthcare, January 2012
  • Honorary Rotarian by Rotary Club of Delhi, May 2011
  • Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa Doctorate) by His Excellency Governor of MP and the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Jabalpur, October 2007
  • Dr. K C Mahajan Award for Best Academician, January 2006
  • Gem of India Award for excellence in field, 2006
  • Arch of Excellence (Medicare) Award, 2006
  • Bharat Jyoti Award, 2006
  • Rashtriya Rattan Award & Gold Medal for Medical Excellence, December 2005
  • Indira Gandhi Priyadarshini Award for excellence work in the laparoscopy field, November 2005
  • Dhanvantari Award for Excellence in Health Care, November 2005
  • Awarded IMAGES Masters Virk Award – 2005 by Virk Hospital Centre for Human Reproduction
  • Awarded Padma Shri, the highest civilian honor, awarded by the President of India in January 2002
  • ACADIMA 2001, awarded in the field of Minimal Access Surgery
  • Aadharshila award for excellent work and contribution in the field of medicine
  • Placed in Limca Book of Records 2000 to 2009 consecutive years for most minimal access surgery
  • Ratna award in Laparoscopic Surgery by Punjab Government in February, 2000
  • Awarded by Guinness Book of Records for most minimal access surgery in 1997
  • Awarded Arya award for most compassionate doctor in 1997
  • Vocational award 1995-96 by Rotary International
  • Awarded Gold Medal by Indian Medical Association as “Young Investigator of India 95”
  • Best performer National Board of Examination for MNAMS degree in 1979
  • Gold Medal and best performer, Govt. Medical College, Jabalpur (MP) at the MS (Gen. Surgery) in 1977
  • Merit in all subjects, Govt. Medical College, Jabalpur (MP) at the MBBS examination in 1973