The 7 Stages of Alzheimer's Disease: A Comprehensive Guide

By Dr. Mohit Goel in Neurosciences , Neurology

Nov 14 , 2023 | 2 min read

Alzheimer's disease is a progressive neurological disorder that primarily affects memory and cognitive function. It is a complex condition with a distinct set of stages that individuals typically progress through as the disease advances. Understanding these stages can help patients, caregivers, and healthcare professionals anticipate and provide appropriate care.

Stage 1: Preclinical Alzheimer's Disease

The preclinical stage is a relatively recent addition to the understanding of Alzheimer's disease. It refers to the phase where pathological changes in the brain occur but does not yet manifest as noticeable symptoms. This stage is typically identified through biomarker testing, such as imaging scans or cerebrospinal fluid analysis. These tests can detect the presence of amyloid plaques and tau tangles, the hallmark proteins associated with Alzheimer's disease.

Stage 2: Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI)

MCI is often considered an intermediate stage between normal age-related cognitive decline and Alzheimer's disease. During this stage, individuals may experience subtle changes in memory, thinking, and problem-solving. These changes are more significant than typical age-related forgetfulness but do not interfere significantly with daily life. Some people with MCI may progress to Alzheimer's disease, while others may remain stable or even improve.

Stage 3: Mild Alzheimer's Disease

In this stage, the first noticeable symptoms of Alzheimer's disease become apparent. Common signs include:

  • Difficulty remembering recent events and conversations.
  • Challenges with planning and organisation.
  • Misplacing objects and struggling to retrace steps.
  • Decreased performance at work or in social activities.

While individuals with mild Alzheimer's can still function independently, they may require increasing support and may be at risk of safety issues, such as getting lost.

Read more - We Bring Care Where You Need It the Most!

Stage 4: Moderate Alzheimer's Disease

Moderate Alzheimer's is marked by a significant decline in cognitive function. Symptoms include:

  • Increased memory loss, including forgetting personal history.
  • Difficulty with tasks like dressing and grooming.
  • Personality changes, mood swings, and behavioural disturbances.
  • Confusion about time and place.

Caregiver assistance becomes crucial during this stage, as individuals with moderate Alzheimer's often cannot manage daily tasks independently.

Stage 5: Moderately Severe Alzheimer's Disease

This stage is characterised by a substantial loss of cognitive abilities. Symptoms include:

  • An inability to recall personal details, such as their own address or phone number.
  • Confusion about the time and date often leads to disorientation.
  • Challenges with basic activities of daily living, such as eating and toileting.
  • Wandering behaviour and increased agitation.

At this point, individuals typically require full-time assistance and may benefit from a memory care facility.

Stage 6: Severe Alzheimer's Disease

Severe Alzheimer's brings a significant decline in cognitive and physical function. Symptoms include:

  • Loss of the ability to recognise familiar faces, including family and friends.
  • Difficulty speaking coherently or expressing needs.
  • Incontinence
  • Difficulty with mobility and increasing physical frailty.

Care for individuals in this stage involves around-the-clock care, often in a specialised dementia care facility.

Read more - Everything You Need To Know About Dementia

Stage 7: Very Severe Alzheimer's Disease

In the final stage of Alzheimer's, individuals lose the ability to communicate and perform even the most basic functions. They become bedridden and may experience swallowing difficulties, making them susceptible to infections. Caregivers focus on providing comfort and ensuring the individual's physical well-being.

Read more - A Starter Guide to Understanding Alzheimer's Disease and Tips to Make Your Life More Alzheimer Friendly

Understanding these stages can help individuals, families, and healthcare professionals prepare for the challenges that lie ahead and provide appropriate care and support throughout the journey.